You woodn’t have thought it possible, but yes, you can actually have an Apple Watch band – something flexible that needs to wrap around your wrist – made from real wood!

Bandly is the creation of Philadelphia-based designer Lorenzo Buffa, who previously used a patented technique to create the bands for analog watches. These have been sold in major museum stores like MoMA & Guggenheim, and he’s now created versions for the Apple Watch…

Buffa pitches Bandly as a way to have a bit of nature in our lives throughout the day, and help the environment at the same time.

Regular readers will know I’m a sucker for wood, so this was something I had to try.

A timepiece should inspire you. It should be an expression of self. It should be re-inventive. Why must tech look so… techy?

An earth friendly alternative to the rubber, metal, & silicone options out there. We rescue lumber offcuts, a typical waste product, to produce incredibly strong wood bands.

When you see and feel the flexibility, similar to a typical leather band, it’s hard to believe it’s actually made from wood, but it is. It’s a thin layer of wood, for sure, but the finish you see is the actual grain from the wood – it’s not something reconstituted and given an artificial pattern.

You get a choice of Light Teak, Dark Teak, Maple, and Rosewood. Mine is the Light Teak model.

The process blends a real wood finish with polyurethane backing and a transparent water-resistant coating. The result, says Buffa, is something that is durable and tough. The bands have been tested with 10,000 bends, 500 stabs with a steel sheet and 1,000 smashes.

Mine hasn’t been subjected to any such treatment, but I have worn it for a trip to Buenos Aires, which my shoes can attest is a rather dusty city; I’ve slept in it, both on the plane and in bed; and I’ve worn it while washing my hands numerous times. It has happily taken all this in its stride and still looks brand new.

I have to say that it’s attracted a surprising amount of attention! Even the airport security person asked about it, and it’s had a number of compliments.

My daily driver Watch band is a third-party copy of Apple’s Link Bracelet (the version I have is sadly no longer available). I love the convenience of just slipping it on and snapping it closed in a second or two, so my other bands are languishing unloved in the wardrobe. I will most likely return to it just for that convenience, but I could see myself wearing Bandly more than any of my others.

It’s a Kickstarter, so the usual cautions apply. However, the company has been around for seven years and says production is a done deal – it is using the platform primarily for marketing purposes, something which seems increasingly common.

Pricing is $39, which I consider a bargain given the quality. If I’d had to guess at a price, I would have said $100. Well worth considering if you’re a fellow wood fan.

Bandly is on Kickstarter and is fully-funded.