Food to eat:

All-inclusive resorts in Cancun cater to foreigners, so the food you’re going to get will cater to a foreigner’s palette i.e. you’re not going to get authentic Mexican food. If that’s what you want, you’ll have to get out of the resort and go downtown. After a few days, we got tired of the food at our resort and didn’t know where to go so we went on taco tour to experience Cancun like a local, which was actually the best choice we made over there! If you’re a foodie, I highly recommend going on a food tour and do it early during your trip. You’re going to want to hit those spots again later.

Taxi —In Cancun, you can negotiate the rate of your ride before you get in. Ask your hotel staff for typical trip costs so that you know what to expect and know what’s overpriced and what’s not.

Return:

Back into the work/study grind, I was relaxed and so much more energized. I hadn’t realized how tight my body was before I went on vacation. If relaxing at a beach is how you blow off steam, go to Cancun. I wish I could go back to relaxing on a beach chair under the sun, listening to the waves while drinking beer. Cancun is worth at least a 7-day trip, I wouldn’t go less or there wouldn’t be enough time to explore and unplug. After experiencing the wonderous Cancun, it’s definitely a place I would return to. I got so much from this trip and the least I could do is share it and guide you so that you can make the most out of your Cancun trip.

Story + photographs by Johanna Aquino, get out of the bay more often, meet the people and places that keep the world interesting daily.

Away From The Bay  Crystal Blue Oceans In Sunny Cancun - 20Away From The Bay  Crystal Blue Oceans In Sunny Cancun - 99